gentry13

Unashamed of the Impossible Dream

In Uncategorized on February 19, 2011 at 6:03 pm

Yesterday Triangle celebrated the lives of two women, Gladys and Connie, who have each served the organization for over 30 years. Triangle employees from each of our four decades of service gathered at a local function hall to share a good word, eat a little cake, and celebrate these two remarkable women.

In the middle of the program, Dr. Conti, one of Triangle’s founders, said his piece and then said he wanted to sing the Triangle theme song. I didn’t know Triangle had a theme song, but apparently we do. It’s “The Impossible Dream,” which is one of those songs I didn’t think I knew until I heard it. The song was written for The Man of La Mancha, thought I don’t remember Sam crooning it on Quantum Leap. It goes something like this:

To dream the impossible dream
To fight the unbeatable foe
To bear with unbearable sorrow
To run where the brave dare not go.

To right the unrightable wrong
To be better far than you are
To try when your arms are too weary
To reach the unreachable star

This is my quest, to follow that star,
No matter how hopeless, no matter how far…

When you read the lyrics, all Arial and abstract like that, it sounds like pablum. The kind of song that would resonate if Andy Williams used it as an encore at his Moon River Theater in Branson, but would ring hollow elsewhere.

But not in that room. Not yesterday. Not with 40 years of people who have given years, given up more competitive compensation and invested their very lives in providing support, challenge and opportunity for people with disabilities.

As Dr. Conti sang, as sappy as it seems, I was challenged once again to remember the mission that Christ introduced and many of us have felt compelled by the Spirit to join since. Namely, to bring good news to the poor, to proclaim freedom for the prisoners, recovery of sight for the blind, to set the oppressed free. To announce, as it were, the year of God’s Jubilee.

Perhaps that sounds like pablum, or at least a little starry-eyed, to others. I don’t care. I can only hope that if I have the grace to make it to Dr. Conti’s age I will also be able to sing of the dream of justice, healing, liberation, and Divine favor with sustained passion, without apology and without embarrassment.

Here’s to the impossible dream.

  1. Good words.

    In a semi-related inquiry: yeah, music has they weird way of reaching into our being without our knowing or wanting. I would have been in the same boat as you. Who knew a show tune from Man of La Mancha could ‘reach’ us? I think it always has something to do with physical place and time of hearing/experiencing a song or music.

    On that same note, that’s pretty much the reason I got sucked into the ‘praise’ music scene 10-12 years ago, albeit cheesy. Something within that genre reached me even though I wouldn’t have been caught dead listening to it elsewhere.

    And with me, Arcade Fire had that same effect. I never would have latched onto them had they not been singing their subject(s) at this particular place, time, location in my life…

  2. confessional posts about music contextual connections would be cool. except that it would force me to explain the bad medicine t-shirt and matching compression shorts.

Leave a Reply

